Encouraging Self Sufficiency for Newly Arrived Migrants

The Government has extended the Newly Arrived Resident’s Waiting Period for a number of welfare payments, and introduced new waiting periods for other payments.

These fact sheets reflect the new waiting period rules, which passed Parliament on 3 December 2018 and started on 1 January 2019.

Note: this measure was originally announced in the 2017-18 Mid-Year Economic and Fiscal Outlook and extended in the 2018-19 Budget. Changes to the measure were subsequently announced in November 2018. These fact sheets reflect those changes.

To find out more go to the Upcoming changes page.

Last updated: