Country Programs

Australia currently has an active intercountry adoption arrangement with 13 countries, including:

  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Latvia
  • Poland
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand

For more information on Australia’s intercountry adoption programs, including eligibility criteria and post adoption support, visit the Intercountry Adoption Australia website.

Reactivation of the India-Australia intercountry adoption program

Australia began the reactivation of the India-Australia intercountry adoption program using a careful, staged approach
in April 2019.

During this initial stage of the reactivation, two jurisdictions – Queensland (Qld) and Northern Territory (NT) – have been assessing a small number of people and forwarding files of suitable applicants to the Indian adoption authority for consideration and action.

The remaining state and territory governments continue to monitor processes and be guided by key learnings before determining their future involvement.

This staged approach is allowing all Australian federal, state and territory governments to closely monitor the initial cases and build our understanding of the new safeguards and standards introduced in India’s revised intercountry adoption program. This approach will help the reactivated program to operate as smoothly as possible.

Interested parties living in Qld and NT can contact their central authority for further information or to express their interest in the India program:

Programs currently on hold

The Philippines

The Philippines program is still on hold. In 2018, the Philippines Government advised that they will not be accepting adoption applications from Australia. This also includes for the adoption of a relative or known child.

We are discussing options with the Philippines Government to resolve the program hold.

Last updated: