Disability Reform Ministers’ Meeting on 13 December 2022

15 December 2022Commonwealth state and territory disability ministers with NDIA chair Mr Kurt Fearnley AO

Commonwealth, State and Territory Disability Ministers met on 13 December 2022 in Melbourne with the Hon Amanda Rishworth MP, the Hon Natasha Maclaren Jones MLC and the Hon Nat Cook MP attending online.

Guests at the meeting included the Co-Chairs of the NDIS Review Panel, Ms Lisa Paul AO PSM and Professor Bruce Bonyhady AM, the Chair of the Independent Expert Review Oversight Committee, Mr Graeme Innes AM, the Chair of the Australia’s Disability Strategy Advisory Council, Dr Ben Gauntlett and the Member for Higgins, Dr Michelle Ananda–Rajah MP.

Key issues discussed included: the NDIS Review forward work and consultation and engagement plans; the interim report of the Independent Expert Review Oversight Committee on possible long term solutions to improve the handling of disputes of NDIA decisions; the critical importance of high quality data to improve outcomes; and Australia’s Disability Strategy and the work of the Disability Advisory Council, including key priorities for 2023.

Ministers noted that there is a continued need for targeted and effective measures to support and protect people with disability in response to COVID-19. Member for Higgins, Dr Michelle Ananda Rajah MP, presented on current evidence around disability responses, particularly the importance of ventilation in maintaining safe indoor environments, and access to antivirals.

Communiqué 13 December 2022

Last updated: