Council members

Biographical information of the Council Members

The Council currently consists of six members, including:

Dr Sev Ozdowski AM FAICD – Chair (NSW)

Director, Access and Equity, University of Western Sydney

Dr Ozdowski is the Director, Equity and Diversity at the University of Western Sydney and Adjunct Professor of the Centre of Peace and Conflict Studies at University of Sydney. He was the Australian Human Rights Commissioner and Disability Discrimination Commissioner at the then named Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission from 2000-2005. He has also headed the Office of Multicultural and International Affairs in South Australia for five years, and since 2006 is the President of the Australian Council for Human Rights Education. Dr Ozdowski was recognised through various Australian and international honours, including an Order of Australia Medal in 1995, and was appointed as a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia in 2016.

Dr Bulent Hass Dellal AO (VIC)

Executive Officer, Australian Multicultural Foundation

Dr Dellal is the Executive Director of the Australian Multicultural Foundation. He has considerable experience in multicultural affairs and sits on several boards. He was a member of the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council until June 2011 and the former Australian Multicultural Council until June 2014. His service to multicultural organisations, the arts and the community was recognised through an Order of Australia Medal in 1997.

During the 2015 Queen's Birthday Honours, Dr Dellal was appointed an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia in recognition of distinguished service to the multicultural community through leadership and advisory roles, to the advancement of inclusiveness and social harmony, to youth, and to the broadcast media.

Mrs Charlotte Vidor (NSW)

Director, Toga Group

Mrs Vidor is a Director of the Toga Group of Companies. She has strong community ties through planning development and her involvement in tourism boards. Mrs Vidor was the Director of the JewishCare Foundation and continues to be involved in community wellbeing and development.

Mr Vasan Srinivasan (VIC)

Director, Shiamak Davar International

Mr Srinivasan is the Director of Shiamak Davar International and Chair of the Confederation of Australian Indian Association Inc. He is a well-known community leader active in mental health and multicultural sectors throughout Victoria and was awarded the Meritorious Service Award for Excellence in multicultural affairs by the Victorian Government in 2013. Mr Srinivasan served as a President of the Federation of Indian Association of Victoria and was a founding member of the Federation of Indian Multifaith Organizations Victoria Inc.

Ms Helena Kyriazopoulos (SA)

Access and Equity Unit Coordinator, Alzheimers Australia

Ms Kyriazopoulos is an Access and Equity Community Development Coordinator for Alzheimers Australia SA and has contributed towards journal articles and published works related to aged care and disability rights. She has over 30 years’ experience in the multicultural sector and currently sits on multiple boards.

Miss Faiza Rehman (VIC)

Youth Officer, United Muslim Migrant Association

Miss Rehman is a Youth Officer at the United Muslim Migrant Association and an advocate for youth empowerment and inspiring young people to push their boundaries to achieve their goals. She was nominated for the Young Australian Muslim of the Year Award in 2005 for her community work.

Last updated: