About the Awards

The National Homelessness Services Achievement Awards recognise the outstanding achievements and contributions community organisations make to support people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness in our communities.

The Awards allow for these services, organisations and staff to be recognised for providing world class programs and support to prevent homelessness and to assist people who are experiencing homelessness.

Nominations for the 2013 awards are now closed.

The inaugural Awards 2012

Minister for Housing and Homelessness Brendan O’Connor presented the 2012 winners with their awards at a ceremony in Canberra in March 2012.

In conjunction with the Awards presentation in 2012, the event featured an Expo, where a number of homelessness sector and government agencies showcased their work with clients experiencing, or at risk of, homelessness. The Expo demonstrated the collaboration and sharing of ideas/best practice service among the sector. 

Concluding the day was a plenary panel discussion. Chaired by Mr Tony Nicholson (Executive Director of the Brotherhood of St Laurence and Chair of the Prime Minister’s Council on Homelessness), the discussion addressed the topic: ‘Australia’s homelessness sector: Our Achievements and future’. Panel members included:

  • Ms Kay Hallahan – former Chair of the West Australian Council on Homelessness
  • Ms Netty Horton – member of the Prime Minister’s Council on Homelessness
  • Ms Narelle Clay – CEO Southern Youth and Family Services, Chairperson Homelessness Australia and member of the Prime Minister’s Council on Homelessness
  • Mr Sean Innis – Group manager, Housing, Homelessness and Money Management, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

View the Minister’s speech from the National Homelessness Sector Achievement Awards ceremony.

Last updated: