National Affordable Housing Agreement

The National Affordable Housing Agreement (NAHA) aims to ensure that all Australians have access to affordable, safe and sustainable housing that contributes to social and economic participation.

The NAHA is an agreement by the Council of Australian Governments that commenced on 1 January 2009, initiating a whole-of-government approach in tackling the problem of housing affordability.

The NAHA provides $6.2 billion worth of housing assistance to low and middle income Australians in the first five years.

The NAHA is supported by the National Partnership Agreements on:

  • social housing
  • homelessness
  • Indigenous Australians living in remote areas

Former housing agreement

The 2003 Commonwealth-State Housing Agreement was between the Australian Government and the states and territories. The purpose of the agreement was to provide funding to assist those whose needs for appropriate housing could not be met by the private market.

The 2003 CSHA, effective from 1 July 2003 to 31 December 2008, provided more than $5.2 billion from the Commonwealth Government for housing assistance such as public and community housing, Indigenous housing, crisis accommodation, home purchase assistance and private rental assistance.

Last updated: