Remarkable efforts recognised at the 10th National Disability Awards

Winner of the Lesley Hall Leadership Award, Maurice Corcoran with his wife, Sheila

Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services, Jane Prentice has announced this year’s National Disability Awards winners at a gala ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra tonight.

 “These passionate and hardworking people and organisations have been recognised for their commitment and contribution to achieving greater inclusion and accessibility for people with disability,” Mrs Prentice said.

This year’s winners demonstrate a range of outstanding achievements including:

  • long-term advocates in social justice, equality and rights for people with disability;
  • the development of innovative technology that has the ability to bring function to paralysed or damaged hands;
  • a program that gives people with disability the chance to experience scuba diving in the comfort of their own local pool; and
  • a community that strives to make its town more accessible.

The National Disability Awards are a major part of the Commonwealth Government’s celebration of International Day of People with Disability, marked on 3 December each year.

Further details of the achievements of the 2016 winners are available at

A ministerial media release is available.

Last updated: