Community Safety and Justice Implementation Plan under Stronger Futures in the Northern Territory

The National Partnership Agreement on Stronger Futures in the Northern Territory gives effect to the Australian and Northern Territory Government’s commitment to work with Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory. It aims to support Aboriginal people, particularly in remote communities, to live strong, independent lives, where communities, families and children are safe and healthy.

Signed by the Prime Minister and the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, the National Partnership Agreement outlines nine supporting Implementation Plans to set out funding and commitments for each of the nine specific schedules.

This Community Safety and Justice Implementation Plan (Schedule C of the National Partnership Agreement) sets out detailed policy and financial undertakings that ensure community safety measures in remote Northern Territory communities continue to be provided under Stronger Futures. This Plan commits the Northern Territory Government, through the Commonwealth’s investment of $304.64 million, to:

  • continue the employment of 60 full time Northern Territory police officers to support a police presence in 18 remote communities (formally the Themis sites);
  • complete the construction of three police complexes at Gapuwiyak, Ramingining and Arlparra, that were commenced and/or funded under the National Partnership Agreement on Closing the Gap in the Northern Territory, and a major upgrade of the police complex at Yuendumu;
  • build an additional four new police complexes; and
  • continue important drug and alcohol specialist policing units through maintaining the Substance Abuse Intelligence Desks, including the Dog Operations Units, in Darwin, Katherine and Alice Springs.

The signed Community Safety and Justice Implementation Plan is posted on the Federal Financial Relations website as a commitment to accountability on the part of both governments.

Last updated: