Priority Communities

The 29 locations were identified using the investment principles set out in the schedules to the Remote Service Delivery National Partnership Agreement.

Communities were selected based on factors including:

  • significant concentration of population
  • anticipated demographic trends and pressures
  • potential for economic development and employment
  • pre-existing shortfalls in government investment in infrastructure and services
  • potential to build on other significant investment already in progress or on community-based initiatives.

The priority locations for initial investment are:

State Area
Northern Territory (NT) Angurugu, Galiwinku, Gapuwiyak, Gunbalanya, Hermannsburg, Lajamanu, Maningrida, Milingimbi, Nguiu, Ngukurr, Numbulwar, Wadeye, Yirrkala, Yuendumu and Umbakumba
Queensland (QLD) the Gulf communities of Mornington Island and Doomadgee, and the Cape York communities of Aurukun and Hope Vale, together with continuing work in Coen and Mossman Gorge which are part of the Cape York Welfare Reform trial
Western Australia (WA) Fitzroy Crossing and surrounding communities, Halls Creek and surrounding communities, and the Dampier Peninsula (with a focus on Beagle Bay and Ardyaloon)
South Australia (SA) Amata and Mimili in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands
New South Wales (NSW) Walgett and Wilcannia in the State’s far west.

These priority communities, which in many cases are growing as a result of demographic factors, are receiving additional and accelerated investment.

Those communities not currently covered by the RSD strategy will continue to receive government support and services at least to existing levels. The RSD strategy may be expanded to other remote communities on the basis of the investment principles.

Related information

National Partnership Agreement on Remote Service Delivery

Last updated: