Prohibited material

The former Australian Government changed legislation to help prevent children from being exposed to sexually explicit material within the Northern Territory’s Aboriginal communities.

Since 14 September 2007 the possession of this material has been banned in prescribed areas. The supply of material into these areas is also banned.

Categories to which the ban applies are:

  • Category 1 Restricted
  • Category 2 Restricted
  • X18+ films, and
  • Refused Classification films, computer games and publications.

These categories are defined in the Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995.

A range of penalties apply, with higher penalties for ‘traffickers’. Police are able to seize or destroy prohibited material. Further information on bans and penalties can be found on this website.

The new laws work together with existing State and Territory classification enforcement legislation.

On 21 February 2008, the current Government introduced legislation that, when implemented, would require particular pay television licensees not to provide television channels that contain a large amount of R 18+ programming into certain prescribed areas. The Government’s amendments will require consultation with communities before the restrictions are applied.

The NTER legislation also included provision to audit publicly funded computers for prohibited material.

The Australian Government is funding the Northern Territory Government to provide pornography education in Aboriginal communities. Community workshops are helping people to understand what material children should not see.

Indigenous people in the Northern Territory were consulted about the measures relating to prohibited material and computer audits between June and August 2009. Additional information can be found in the discussion paper, Future Directions for the Northern Territory Emergency Response.

More Information

Last updated: