National Disability Insurance Scheme

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) supports people with a permanent and significant disability that affects their ability to take part in everyday activities.

What does the scheme do?

The NDIS works with you to identify the supports you need to achieve goals in many aspects of your life. This may include independence, involvement in your community, education, employment and health and wellbeing.

It provides greater choice and control over your how and when you receive your supports and ensures you receive the support you need over your lifetime.

It also focuses on early intervention where getting early support can reduce the impact of disability for you or your child.

Can I access the NDIS?

You need to meet the following requirements:

  • have a permanent and significant disability that affects your ability to take part in everyday activities
  • be aged less than 65 when you first access the scheme
  • be an Australian citizen, a permanent resident or a New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa.
  • live in a trial site location (during the trial).

Use My Access Checker to find out if you can access the NDIS and register your interest.

Where is the NDIS available?

The NDIS is being trialled in the following locations across Australia. The scheme will be rolled out nationally from 2016:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Barkly region, Northern Territory
  • Barwon region, Victoria
  • Newcastle and Lake Macquarie areas,  New South Wales
  • Perth Hills area, Western Australia
  • South Australia (for children aged 0–13)
  • Tasmania (for people age 15–24)


A range of materials have been developed to help increase your understanding of the NDIS and what you need to do to access the scheme.

For more information visit the NDIS website.

These materials have been advertised in NDIS trial sites.

Last updated: